Tuesday, 13 November 2012

Tiger cubs lose 3 on the bounce

Tigers Academy side lost their first game against Bedford since 2009 to extend their winless run to 3 games.  Bedford had a dream start to lead 27-3 at half time before Tigers dragged it back to 30-15 to give the scoreboard a fig leaf of respectability.  It makes a mockery of Bedford's exclusion from the up coming national U-18 league.  The 3 game losing streak is the Academy's longest since October 2007 when they lost to France after earlier suffering reverses against Northampton and Sale.

Bedford opened the scoring when prop Joe Foreman buried over from a lineout drive.  Ollie Bryant reduced the deficit with a penalty before Bedford struck again; fly half Joe Tarrant broke through the heart of Tigers defence before simple hands put centre Felix Streeton over for the try.  Winger Mike Stangway finished off the first half scoring as his individual try but the Blues 27-3 up at the break.

After a roasting at half time the Tiger cubs looked to overhaul the scoreline and immediately set about their work driving Matthew Hubart over after 2 minutes; Bryant converted to make it 27-10.  But the come back stalled as Bedford's Tarrant pushed them further ahead with a penalty and it took a further 30 minutes for Tigers to breach the Blues defence as Ed Milne claimed the try to bring the score to 30-15 as the conversion effort failed.  

This was no weak line up from the Tigers, hooker Harry Thacker had made his first team debut the day before coincidentally also at Goldington Road against Saracens.  At least 6 of the squad have national representative honours compared to one for Bedford.  Tigers look to bounce back next Saturday against Moseley and build towards the new Under 18s league.  Maybe next year Bedford will be allowed into it.

1. Joe Foreman
2. Alex Bloisi
3. Jack Simpson
4. Ben Latimer
5. Luke Carter
6. Josh Lemon
7. Joe Bercis
8. Shaq Meyers
9. Alex Smit
10. Joe Tarrant
11. Mike DiPonio
12. Nathan Donnachie
13. Felix Streeton
14. Mike Stanway
15. Aaron Morris. 
Replacements: Ben Brownlie, Mitch Akroyd, Alex Ruck, Scott Arroyo-Hover, Danny Hartwell, George Humphries, Chris Lord, Brandon Lewsey.

Tries: Foreman, Streeton, Stanway; Conversion: Tarrant 3; Penalty: Tarrant 3.

O Tom Bellak
N Rhys Williams
M George Catchpole (c)
L Oliver Bryant
K Hershall Ward
J John Hargreaves
I George Prince
A Neale Farthing
B Harry Thacker
C Djustice Duru-Sears
D Ryan Mason
E Joe Maksymiw
F Jake Farnworth
H Kain Rix
G Ed Milne 

P James Thraves
Q Oliver Povoas
S Matthew Hubbart
T Will Owen
U Gift Sankoh
V Luke Jones
W Perry Humphreys
Y Charlie Beckett
Z Charlie Thacker
David Williams
Josh Bevan-Brown
Will Andrews

Tries: Hubbart, Milne; Conversion: Bryant; Penalty: Bryant.

No comments:

Post a Comment