Thursday, 7 March 2013

9 Tigers called for National Service

On a busy day for announcements no fewer than 9 Tigers academy players have been called up to represent their country at various levels.  

Harry Wells retains his place for England Under 20s at blindside flanker as they face Italy in Northampton on Friday, Henry Purdy is forced to the bench as Exeter's Jack Nowell returns from Premiership duty, notably outside centre Mark Jennings was the Sale winger beaten for pace by Ed Slater for his try from the halfway line last Saturday.  On the opposing side will be Italian tighthead Tiziano Pasquali.

Scott Steele returns to Scotland Under 20s after missing last year's Junior World Cup with a broken leg, he replaces Sam Hidalgo-Clyne in the 23 who misses out with an ankle injury.

4 Tigers have been selected for England Under 18s after their impressive season in the inaugural Premiership Academies league.  They face Wales in Swansea on Sunday in another warm up for the FIRA-AER Under 18s Championship to be held in France in 2 weeks.  Neale Farthing retains his place on the bench, after being a second half sub last week, where he is joined by scrum half George Tresidder, originally from Derby he missed the early action in the Academy league with an injury but is now back to full fitness.  In the starting line up are versatile outside back Tom Hudson, playing full back after predominantly featuring for Tigers at centre, and openside flanker Will Owen.  Owen bagged a try in each of the last three matches for the U-18s so is in cracking form.

The final player selected is Tigers EPDG player Oliver Fewtrell who has been named in England's Schools and Clubs Under 18s for their match against Bedford Blues Academy Under 19s.  This squad is meant to be selected from players who are not full time rugby players and was the route taken by Henry Purdy last season before he signed with the club full time.

England U20
15 Ollie Devoto (Bath Rugby)
14 Ben Howard (Worcester Warriors)
13 Mark Jennings (Sale Sharks)
12 Sam Hill (Exeter Chiefs)
11 Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)
10 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
9 Callum Braley (Bristol Rugby)
1 Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi (Northampton Saints)
2 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs)
3 Scott Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)
4 Elliott Stooke (Gloucester Rugby)
5 Dominic Barrow (Leeds Carnegie)
6 Harry Wells (Leicester Tigers)
7 David Sisi (London Irish)
8 Jack Clifford (Harlequins) (c)

16 Nathan Morris (London Wasps)
17 Alex Lundberg (London Wasps)
18 Danny Herriott (Northampton Saints)
19 Tom Jubb (Saracens)
20 Gus Jones (London Wasps)
21 Alex Day (Northampton Saints)
22 Tom Stephenson (Northampton Saints)

23 Henry Purdy (Leicester Tigers)

Italy Under-20s
15 Angelo Esposito (Benetton Treviso)
14 David Michael Odiete (Zebre Rugby)
13 Michele Campagnaro (Benetton Treviso)
12 Giovanni BEnvenuti (Marchiol Mogliano)
11 Filippo Guarducci (Marchiol Mogliano)
10 Edoardo Padovani (Marchiol Mogliano)
9 Simone Marinaro (Fiamme Oro)
1 Luca Scarsini (Cammi Calvisano)
2 Alain Moriconi (UR Capitolina)

3 Tiziano Pasquali (Leicester Tigers)
4 Alessio Zdrilich (Cammi Calvisano)
5 Michele Andreotti (CammI Calvisano)
6 Andrea Trotta (Nuova Rugby Roma)
7 Jacopo Salvetti (Cammi Calvisano) (c)
8 Maxime Mbanda (Rugby Grande Milano)

16 Luca Conti (L'Aquila Rugby)
17 Matteo Zanusso (M-Three San Donà)
18 Simone Ferrari (Crociati Rugby)
19 Vittorio Marazzi (Crociati Rugby)
20 Gianmarco Vian (M-Three San Donà)
21 Marcello Violi (Crociati Rugby)
22 Filippo Buscema (UR Capitolina)
23 Andrea Bettin (Petrarca Padova)

Scotland U20
15 Ruaridh Young (Edinburgh Accies)
14 Damien Hoyland (Boroughmuir)
13 Chris Auld (Gala)
12 Mark Bennett (Glasgow Warriors)
11 Rory Hughes (Scotland 7s/Stirling County)
10 Tommy Allan (unattached)
9 Ali Price (Bedford Blues)
1 Shawn Muir (Hawick)
2 Russell Anderson (Gala)
3 D'arcy Rae (Ayr)
4 Ruaridh Leishman (Stirling County)
5 Jonny Gray (captain) (Glasgow Warriors/Currie)
6 Alex Henderson (Boroughmuir)
7 Will Bordill (Sale Sharks)
8 Adam Ashe (Glasgow Warriors/Stirling County)

16 Callum Black (Edinburgh Accies)
17 Jamie Bhatti (Stirling County)
18 Phil Cringle (Edinburgh Rugby/Stewart's-Melville FP)
19 Cameron Turner (Aberdeen Grammar)
20 Tommy Spinks (London Scottish)

21 Scott Steele (Leicester Tigers)
22 Robbie Fergusson (Ayr)
23 Keith Buchan (Boroughmuir)

England Under 18
15 Tom Hudson (Leicester Tigers & Wyggeston & Queen Elizabeth College)
14 Zach Kibirige (Newcastle Falcons & Yarm School)
13 Nick Carpenter (Bristol Rugby & Filton College)
12 David Buck (Bath Rugby & Sherborne)
11 Nathan Earle (Saracens & Oaklands College)
10 Sam Olver (Northampton Saints & Oundle School)
9 Stuart Townsend (Exeter Chiefs & Ivybridge College)

1 Alex Lundberg (London Wasps & Hampton School)
2 Cameron Neild (Sale Sharks & Manchester Grammar)
3 Paul Hill (Leeds Carnegie & Prince Henry’s Grammar)
4 Tom Ellis (Bath Rugby & Millfield School)
5 Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby & Bryanston School)
6 Lewis Ludlow  (Gloucester Rugby & Hartpury College)

7 Will Owen (Leicester Tigers & Wyggeston & Queen Elizabeth College)
8 Hayden Stringer (Saracens & Oaklands College)

16 Tom Woolstencroft (Bath Rugby & Bryanston School)
17 Luke Chapman (Exeter Chiefs & Truro College)

18 Neale Farthing (Leicester Tigers & Wyggeston & Queen Elizabeth College)
19 Jordan Onjoaife (Northampton Saints & Stowe School)
20 James Chisholm (Harlequins & Brighton College)

21 George Tressider (Leicester Tigers & Wyggeston & Queen Elizabeth College)
22 Brett Herron (London Irish & Wellington College)
23 Nick Tompkins (Saracens & Oaklands College)

England U18 Clubs & Schools squad
Thomas Duggan (Blackheath RFC, Dartford Grammar School)
Finlay Hillicks (Harlequins, College of Richard Collyer)
Ollie Hodgson (Middlesbrough, Gosforth Academy, Newcastle Falcons)
Dan Hyam (Mellish RFC, Arnold Hill Academy, Nottingham RFC)
Charlie Kingham (Saracens, Felsted School)
Simon Linsell (Gloucester Rugby, Marling School)
Harry McCartney (London Wasps AASE, The Henley College)
Charlie Piper (Harlequins, Cranleigh School)
Dan Preston-Routledge (Leeds Carnegie, Prince Henry’s Grammar School)
Sam Smith (Worcester Warriors, Old Swinford Hospital)
Alistair Wade (Camberley RFC, Godalming College)
Aston Whitlow (Alnwick RFC, Gosforth Academy, Newcastle Falcons)

Sean Brown (Darlington Mowden Park, Newcastle Falcons)
Colin Dickson (Worcester Warriors, Ellesmere College)

Oliver Fewtrell (Derby RFC, Queen Elizabeth Grammar School, Leicester Tigers EPDG)
Jordan Gott (London Irish, St. Pauls Catholic College)
Lewis Jones (Dunstable RFC, Moulton College, Northampton Saints)
Jack Maplesden (Saracens, Woodhouse Grove)
Aaron Morris (Bedford Blues, Biddenham Upper School)
Tom Morton (Sale Sharks, Stockport Grammar School)
Tom Penny (Alnwick RFC, Newcastle RGS, Newcastle Falcons)
Ben Pointon (Northampton Saints, Rugby School)

No comments:

Post a Comment