Friday, 28 December 2012

Tigers v Gloucester match preview

Tigers make one change for the visit of Gloucester to a Sold Out Welford Road this Saturday.  Geoff Parling returns after his rest last week at the expense of Graham Kitchener who misses out on the squad entirely as Steve Mafi makes his long awaited return to the bench.    Martin Castrogiovanni is also back amongst the replacements after returning from compassionate leave in Argentina.

Jordan Crane is set to make his 140th appearance for the Tigers, whilst Adam Thompstone will make his 10th.  Toby Flood will make his 100th Premiership appearance (including 43 for Newcastle) since his 2005 debut.  

Gloucester make three changes to their side which beat Exeter.  Australian international Huia Edmonds comes in at hooker, with Cornishman Darren Dawiduick moving to the bench, Will James comes into the second row at the expense of Tom Savage whilst former Oakham school boy Rob Cook will be disappointed to miss out on this match with a stomach bug.  Martyn Thomas takes his place as full back.

Gloucester feature former Tigers Jim Hamilton as cpatain in the second row and Billy Twlevetrees at centre.  I'm sure the Crumbie Terrace will give Hamilton a good welcome, but what is in store for Twelvetrees after he jumped ship to line his pockets only days after telling Cockerill he was staying? 

The referee will be Andrew Small originally from New Zealand but now based in England; he has shown only one yellow card to a Tigers player in 6 Premiership visits to Welford Road, but has binned a further 4 Tigers players in the 10 Leicester games he has refereed away from home.  So far this season in the Premiership he has binned only 2 home players in 9 games compared to 5 away players (including 2 Worcester players in their visit to Welford Road earlier this season), with the average first sin binning being after only 15 minutes.

15 Geordan Murphy
14 Niall Morris
13 Manusamoa Tuilagi
12 Anthony Allen
11 Adam Thompstone
10 Toby Flood
9 Ben Youngs
1 Marcos Ayerza
2 Tom Youngs
3 Dan Cole
4 Louis Deacon (c)
5 Geoff Parling
6 Brett Deacon
7 Julian Salvi
8 Jordan Crane

16 George Chuter
17 Logovi'i Mulipola
18 Martin Castrogiovanni
19 Ed Slater
20 Steve Mafi
21 Sam Harrison
22 George Ford
23 Matt Smith

15 Martyn Thomas
14 Charlie Sharples
13 Mike Tindall
12 Billy Twelvetrees
11 Shane Monahan
10 Freddie Burns
9 Jimmy Cowan
1 Nick Wood
2 Huia Edmonds
3 Shaun Knight
4 Will James
5 Jim Hamilton (capt)
6 Sione Kalamafoni
7 Akapusi Qera
8 Ben Morgan
16 Darren Dawidiuk
17 Dan Murphy
18 Dario Chistolini
19 Tom Savage
20 Matt Cox
21 Dan Robson
22 Tim Molenaar
23 Drew Locke

No comments:

Post a Comment