Thursday, 31 July 2014

Sevens Squad Named

Tigers return to our TV screens this summer with another crack at the Premiership 7s series.  After last season's run to the final Tigers will be looking to go one further this year.  Tigers are in a tough pool with Newcastle and London Welsh both naming strong squads.

Tigers name 7 members of the academy in the squad.  George Catchpole will captain the squad, he is joined by hooker Jake Farnworth, scrum half George Tresidder and winger David Williams who were part of the squad last year.  Flanker Will Owen and winger Rhys Williams are the other Academy members named.

Tigers name 5 guest players.  Andy Bulumakau is a Scottish-Fijian centre who won the title with Gloucester last year.  Josh Fowles is a former Macclesfield winger who played for Sale in last year's series.  Phil Woodhead is a regular in National League 1 as Wharfedale's scrum half; Dan Rundle is a new signing for Coventry after scoring 8 tries in 22 appearances for Tynedale at the same level.  Tomi Jones is the captain of specialist 7s side Akuma North Wales Exiles.

Leicester Tigers Sevens:
1 Will Owen
2 Jake Farnworth
3 Tomi Jones
4 George Catchpole (c)
5 Rhys Williams
6 George Tresidder
7 Josh Fowles
8 Andy Bulumakau
9 Phil Woodhead
10 David Williams
11 Oli Bryant
12 Dan Rundle

No comments:

Post a Comment